2006 SI Abstracts & Winners

Summer Institute | Past Summer Institutes

Summer Institute: Top 3 Poster Presentations

Top 3 Poster Presentations

  • 1st Place:
    Implementing a Humpty Dumpty Falls© Scale & Prevention Program
    Cheryl Minick, BSN, RN, BC
    Miami Children's Hospital
    View Abstract

  • 2nd Place:
    Turning a Personal Tragedy into an Evidence-Based Practice Victory
    Janis Rice, MSN, RN, CS
    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    View Abstract

  • 3rd Place:
    Interventions in the Prevention of Ventilator Asssociated Pneumonia
    Kelly McCullough, RN, MSN
    TVHS VAMC Nashville, Tennessee
    View Abstract

CONGRATULATIONS to these EBP Leaders for their exemplary work!

ABSTRACTS SELECTED FOR POSTER PRESENTATION. Abstracts may be viewed by clicking on title.

2006 EBP Across the Nation: Attended Poster Presentations

Attended Poster Presentation

EBP Across the Nation:  Attended Poster Presentations


1

Reducing Patient Injury Due to Falls

Sandra K.Anderson, RN, Sandra.Anderson7@va.gov

Bedford VA Medical Center

View Abstract

2

 

 

Overcoming Geographic Barriers to Implementation of Evidence-Based Practice

Gayle Z. Balmaceda, RN, MSN, ANP, GNP, gbalmace@mdanderson.org

UT MD Anderson Cancer Center

View Abstract

3

Using Evidence to Implement the SIP Bundle in a Community Hospital

Pamela Marie Bierbaum, BSN, RN, sdburke@ilstu.edu

BroMenn Healthcare

View Abstract

4

Early Cause Identification Through Formal Retrospective Fall Analysis

June Ruth Granger, RN, MSN, CPHQ, jgb0724@louisiana.edu

Univ. of Louisiana Lafayette College of Nursing and Allied Health Professions
View Abstract

5

Facilitating the Transition of Care in Spina Bifida: An Evidenced-Based Update

Patricia G. Braun, RNC, CPNP, MA, MSN, pbraun@lumc.edu

Loyola Medical Center, Rocky Mountain University of Health Care
Not Available

6

Evidence-Based Quality Improvement: Pressure Ulcer Prevention

Kimberly Catania, MSN, RN, CNS, AOCN, Cheryl.huang@osumc.edu

OSU James Cancer Hospital

View Abstract

7

Improving Utilization of Healthcare Resources: Palliative Care Consultation in the ICU

Rosemary Chacko, MD, rxchacko@yahoo.com

Methodist Hospital, San Antonio

Not Available

8

Identification of Cancer Patients at Risk for Venous Thromboembolism

Ashleigh Chavez, RN, BSN, Ascruggs@mdanderson.org

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
View Abstract

9

The Case for Prenatal Blood Lead Level Screening

Kathleen Ann Cobb, RN, cobb@uthscsa.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
View Abstract

10

Patient Safety Collaborative: Implementation of the Ventilator Bundle

Linda Kay Cook, PhD, RN, CCRN, CCNS, ACNP, Lcook@DCHweb.org

Doctors Community Hospital
View Abstract

11

Evidence for Learning-Centered Nursing Programs: Putting Students First

Karla Dalley, PhD, RN, dalley@suu.edu

Southern Utah University
View Abstract

12

Developing an Evidence Based Practice Course in a Hurry!

Taraneh Dean, Bsc (Hons), PhD, ann.dewey@port.ac.uk

School of Health Sciences and Social Work (SHSSW), University of Portsmouth

View Abstract


13

Cochrane Systematic Review of the Use of Fish Oils in Cancer Cachexia

Ann Dewey, RN, BSc (Hons), MSc, ann.dewey@port.ac.uk

School of Health Sciences and Social Work (SHSSW), University of Portsmouth
View Abstract

14

DVT Prophylaxis: Using Evidence to Impact Clinical Practice

Brenda M. Eden, RN, MS, CNS, eden.brenda@mhsil.com

Memorial Medical Center

View Abstract

15

A Tool for Quantifying Organizational Support for Evidence-Based Practice Change

Mary Friel Fanning, RN, MSN, CCRN, CNAA, BC, fanningm@rcbhsc.wvu.edu

West Virginia University Hospitals
View Abstract

16

Unraveling the Mystery Behind Evidence-Based Practice for Staff Nurses

M. Jane Fayland, MSN, APRN, CCRN, CNS, baygirle59@aol.com

Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, Doctoral Student at LSUHSC, New Orleans
View Abstract

17

Information Literacy: Creating a Basis for Evidence-Based Practice

Robin Fleschler, PhD, RN-C, CNS, rgflesch@utmb.edu

University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
View Abstract

18

Achieving Evidence-Based Competence in Undergraduate Education

Susan Smart Gardner, MS, RN, gardners@suu.edu

Southern Utah University
View Abstract

19

To Sleep or Not To Sleep On Their Back: An Intervention to Improve Practice for Newborn Care

Pamela M. Gardner, RN, MSN, pgardner@truman.edu

Truman State University

View Abstract

20

Evidence for Health Promotion Programs: The Use of Employee Health Fair Data

Christine Graor, APRN, BC, christineheifner@hotmail.com

The University of Akron College of Nursing
View Abstract

21

Interdisciplinary Approach to Fall Risk Reduction in Skilled Subacute Care

Carol Ann Grinnell, MSN, CNS, hnguyen@seton.org

Seton Medical Center
View Abstract

22

Root Cause Analysis of Clostridium Difficile Associated Diarrhea Cases

Patti G. Grota, MS, RN, CIC, Patti.Grota@va.med.gov

South Texas VA Health Care System
View Abstract

23

Normal Saline Instillation Before Endotracheal Suctioning

Niloufar Hadidi, APRN, BC, MS, CNS, nhadidi1@fairview org

University of Minnesota Medical Center
View Abstract

24

Waiting to Get Your BSN Is Too Late:  Evidence-Based Practice

Marie S. Hanna, RNC, MS, WHNP, hannam@sunysuffolk.edu

Suffolk County Community College
View Abstract


25

Evidence-Based Practice Decreases Catheter Related Infections in PICU

Jennifer Hinrichs, MSN, RN, CCRN, jhinrichs@clarian.org

Riley Hospital for Children
View Abstract

26

Translating Evidence into an ICU Practice Toolkit

Kathy Hoare, RN, DNS, Kathy.Hoare@kp.org

Northern California Kaiser Permanente
View Abstract

27

The Lived Experience of Peri-Menopausal and Menopausal Women Who Take Bio-Identical Hormones

NaRisa Y. Holt-Waldo, MSN, RN, CNS, AOCN, nwaldo@uttyler.edu

The University of Texas at Tyler
View Abstract

28

Evidence-Based Practice Change: Is It Worth the Extra $2?

Cheryl Ann Huang, RN, MS, AOCN, Cheryl.huang@osumc.edu

Arthur James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute
View Abstract

29

Knowledge, Attitudes, and Practice of EB Health Care in RN-BSN Students

Zena Hyman, RN, MS, ANP, zhyman@daemen.edu

Daemen College
View Abstract


30

Improved Outcomes in Management of Malignant Pleural Effusions

Lori Beth Key, MBA, RN, lori.key@hitchcock.org

Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
View Abstract

31

Evidence to Increase Retention Rates in an Undergraduate Nursing Program

Susan Kowalski, PhD, RN, susan.kowalski@univ.edu

University of Nevada Las Vegas
View Abstract

32

Patient's Opinion regarding Nursing Care at BPKIHS

Sami Lama, RN, samilama2002@yahoo.com

B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Science
Not Available

33

Closing the Research-Practice Gap: Incorporating EBP Principles onto a Surgical ICU

Michael Joseph Sloan Lenton, BScN, RN, lentonmichael@hotmail.com

Yale-New Haven Hospital
View Abstract

34

Evidence-Based Practice: Simple as Apple Pie

Betty Levier-Whittaker, BSN, RN, blwhittaker@utep.edu

University of Texas at El Paso
View Abstract

35

Promoting Evidence-Based Practice in the Ambulatory Care Setting

Lourdes A. Lujan, RN, OCN, mllujan@mdanderson.org

MD Anderson Cancer Center
View Abstract

36

Proper Utilization of Unscheduled Patient Clinic

Sulemea Amadur Luna, MS, Rn, CNS, CNAA, BC, PAHeinze@earthlink.net

Veteran’s Affairs

View Abstract

37

Role of the Library in Evidence-Based Practice

Andrea Lynch, MLIS

UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library
View Abstract

38

Interventions in the Prevention of Ventilator Associated Pneumonia

Kelly McCullough, RN, MSN, mary.mccullough2@med.va.gov

TVHS VAMC Nashville, Tennessee
View Abstract

39

Evaluation of a Standardized Electronic Change of Shift Report

Andrew Ross Marges, BSN, RN, andrew.marges@med.va.gov

PVAMC
View Abstract

40

Teaching Use of EBP Guidelines to Student-FNPs: A Study of Implementation

Fran R. Martin, PhD, CFNP, fmartin@mcg.edu

Medical College of Georgia
View Abstract

41

The UTHSCSA Bartter GCRC EBP and TQM Collaborative AE Monitoring

Ricardo A. Martinez, PhD, RN, martinezra0@uthscsa.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
View Abstract

42

Quality of Systematic Reviews in Nursing Literature

Kathleen Stevens, RN, FAAN, Stevensk@uthscsa.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Not Available

43

Integrating Evidenced Based Practice in a Newly Developed Unit Based Chest Pain Center

Beverly Mendes, MSN, APRN-BC, Doctoral Student,

bmendes@harthosp.org

Hartford Hospital
View Abstract

44

Quality Improvement: Emergency Department Arterial Blood Gas Turn Around

Rebecca L. Meredith, RRT, BS, morganb@ccf.org

Cleveland Clinic
View Abstract

45

Decreasing Central Line Infections with Evidence-Based Practice

Jeanette M. Meyer, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS, PCCN, jeannie.meyer@bannerhealth.com

Banner Desert Hospital
View Abstract

46

Transforming Evidence into Nursing Practice: A Strategy to Reality Process

JoAnn M. Mick, AOCN, CNAA, BC, jmick@mdanderson.org

UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
View Abstract

47

Implementing a Humpty Dumpty Falls© Scale & Prevention Program

Cheryl Minick, BSN, RN, BC, cminick02@juno.com

Miami Children’s Hospital
View Abstract

48

Evaluation of an Algorithm for Simplifying Complex Psychotropic Medical Regimens

Lisa A. Mistler, MS, MD, lisa.a.mistler@dartmouth.edu

Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
View Abstract

49

Partnering with the Library: An EBP Curriculum for Health Professionals

Jan Opocensky Rice, MLIS, jan.rice@ttuhsc.edu

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
View Abstract

50

Turning a Personal Tragedy into an Evidence-Based Practice Victory

Janis Rice, MSN, RN, CS, ricej@uthscsa.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
View Abstract


51

Experiences with ART Adherence Counseling at Muhimbili National Hospital in Dar Es Salaaam, Tanzania Millen Charles Ringo, RN, millen@muchs.ac.tz

HIVIS Project, MUCHS, ART Clinic, MNH
View Abstract

52

Decreasing Catheter Related Sepsis in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Jeanne M. Rorke, RNC, NNP, MSN, rorkej@gunet.georgetown.edu

Georgetown University Hospital/MedStar Health
View Abstract

53

Teaching Evidence-Based Practice

Catherine Rosser, MS, RN, CAN, Catherine_Rosser@Baylor.edu

Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing
View Abstract

54

Integrating Biomedical Librarians into Online EBN courses: One University's Experience

Linda A. Roussel, RN, DSN, roussel@usouthal.edu

University of South Alabama, College of Nursing
View Abstract

55

The Effects of Music Therapy and Quiet Twice Daily on Hemodynamic Parameters

Roxanne Sabatini, RN, BSN, CCRN, roxysab@earthlinkl.net

Morristown Memorial Hospital
View Abstract

56

Evidence-Based Practice Case Management: A Program to Identify and Treat Elderly Depression

Kathy Scott, lynne.m.agocs-scott@kp.org

The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences' Center College of Nursing
View Abstract

57

Early Diagnosis of Childhood Overweight and Anticipatory Guidance by Primary Care Providers

Kathleen F. Sellers, PhD, sellerk@sunyit.edu

State University of NY Institute of Technology
View Abstract

58

Outcomes of an Activity Progression Protocol for Pneumonia and COPD Partners

Amy C. Shay, RN, MS, CCRN, CNS, acshay@mvh.org

Miami Valley Hospital
View Abstract

59

Advancing Evidenced-Based Practice

Sister Maurita Soukup, RN, DNSc, msoukup@mercydesmoines.org

Mercy Medical Center-The Iowa Heart Hospital
View Abstract

60

The Rapid Response Team: A reduction of Cardiopulmonary Arrests

Anastasia Stacey Scime, RN, BSN, MSN, Anastasia.scime@med.va.gov

VAWNYHCS
View Abstract

61

Code Star: Evaluating Falls When They Happen

Valerie Tantum, RN, MS, vtantum@SBHCS.com

Union Hospital
View Abstract

62

On Your Mark, Get Set, Go! The Evidence-Based Practice Readiness Survey

Linda Thiel, DNSc, RN, thiell@udmercy.edu

University of Detroit Mercy

View Abstract

63

A Study to Assess the Level of Job Satisfaction Among the Nursing Personnel Working at BPKIHS

Pushpa Parajuli Upreti, RN, pushpaparajuli@yahoo.com

B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Science
View Abstract

64

Measuring Outcomes of the Clinical Nurse Leader Role

Sandra E. Walters, RN, MSN, Sandra.Walters2@va.gov

VA Tennessee Valley Healthcare System
View Abstract

65

The Impact of Automating Evidence-Based Clinical Practice Guidelines on Safety for Those Who Give and Receive Care

Bonnie Wesorick, RN, MSN, bonniewesorick@cpmrc.com

CPM Resource Center
View Abstract

66

Active and Inactive Nurses: Understanding Evidence-Based Retention Strategies

Kimberly Williams, RN, DNSc, kwilliams@usouthal.edu

University of South Alabama, College of Nursing
View Abstract

67

Decompression Craniectomy: Does the Functional Outcome Change?

Laura L. Winslett, RN, CNS, Lwinslett@Seton.org

Brain & Spine Center @ Brackenridge Hospital
View Abstract

For more information, please contact:
Academic Center for Evidence-Based Practice
Email: acestar@uthscsa.edu
Phone: 210-567-1480